Sport / Preview

ATP Cup brings the top men’s tennis stars to Sydney and Brisbane in 2020

Djokovic, Zverev, Monfils, Tsitsipas, Kyrgios, Thiem, Dimitrov and more.

The world’s best tennis stars on the ATP circuit will arrive Down Under for the ATP Cup in just three weeks.

Starting Friday 3 January in Brisbane, Sydney and Perth, 26 of the world top 30 men’s players will compete in the tournament – including nine of the top ten.

The Cup will kick off the 2020 ATP season, pitting the top 24 nations in the world against each other.

How does the ATP Cup work?

The ATP Cup is the newest addition to the Australian tennis calendar so we wanted to give you a little run down of what you can expect.

The top 24 ranked men’s nations will compete in the tournament, based on each country’s top-ranked singles player. They will be split into six groups of four teams each, with two groups based in each city –Brisbane, Sydney and Perth – to compete in a round-robin style tournament. Each team will play three ties in the group stage.

From here the top team in each group, alongside the top two second-place finishers (for a total of eight teams), will head to Sydney for the finals – with knockout games to determine the ATP Cup champions and share in US$15 million in prizemoney. An undefeated singles player could also earn 750 ATP Rankings points and an undefeated doubles player could earn 250 points.

Who can you see at the 2020 ATP Cup?

ATP CUp Teams

The top team in each group will head to the Finals in Sydney, as well as the top two 2nd placed teams.


Our top five Sydney match-ups:

Great Britain v Bulgaria
Austria v Croatia
Great Britain v Belgium
Belgium v Bulgaria
Argentina v Austria

Our top five Brisbane match-ups:

Australia v Greece
Serbia v France
Germany v Australia
Serbia v South Africa
Canada v Australia

Tickets are available to purchase by tie (nation v nation) in both Brisbane and Sydney now, as well as the Finals, where the top ten nations after the groups head to Sydney.

The ATP Cup will take place from Friday 3 January until Wednesday 8 January in Brisbane’s Pat Rafter Arena and Sydney’s Ken Rosewall Arena. The finals will take place in Sydney from Thursday 9 January until Sunday 12 January. Grab your tickets now at

*Players are correct at time of writing

Share post