Sport / Just announced

ATP Cup confirm final teams

The remaining countries set to compete in the ATP Cup this January have been confirmed.

The ATP Cup has announced the final teams set to compete in January’s inaugural competition.

The initial 18-top-ranked countries were announced earlier this year, and will now be joined by six final countries.

The final countries qualifying for the men’s tournament are Bulgaria (replacing Switzerland due to Roger Federer’s withdrawal), Chile, Poland, Uruguay, Moldova and Norway.

The top 24 qualifying countries are drawn based on the nation’s top-ranked men’s singles player.

Nine of the top ten and 26 of the top 30 have already committed to play, including stars such as Novak Djokovic, Alex Zverev, a returning Andy Murray and a lethal Aussie combo of Alex De Minaur and Nick Kyrgios.

Of the additional six countries to qualify, the top two players to confirm their participation are:

Bulgaria | Grigor Dimitrov and Dimitar Kuzmanov
Chile | Cristian Garin and Nicolas Jarry
Poland | Hubart Hurkacz and Kamil Majchrzak
Uruguay | Pablo Cuevas and Martin Cuevas
Moldova | Radu Albot and Alexander Cozbinov
Norway | Casper Ruud and Viktor Durasovic

Bulgaria and Grigor Dimitrov will replace Switzerland in Group C in Sydney, alongside Moldova. Poland will also head to Sydney, taking the remaining spot in Group E.

Chile will round out Group A in Brisbane, whilst Uruguay and Norway both head to Perth.


The final confirmed groups in each state are:


Group A:

  • Serbia
  • France
  • South Africa
  • Chile

Group F:

  • Germany
  • Greece
  • Canada
  • Australia


Group C:

  • Belgium
  • Great Britain
  • Bulgaria
  • Moldova

Group E:

  • Austria
  • Croatia
  • Argentina
  • Poland


Group B:

  • Spain
  • Japan
  • Georgia
  • Uruguay

Group D:

  • Russia
  • Italy
  • USA
  • Norway


Who’s playing in the 2020 ATP Cup?

The full list of confirmed players in the ATP Cup sees some of men’s tennis’ biggest name stars head to our shores prior to the Australian Open.

Argentina (Diego Schwartzman and Guido Pella)
Australia (Nick Kyrgios and Alex De Minaur) – *Wildcard*
Austria (Dominic Thiem and Dennis Novak)
Belgium (David Goffin and Steve Darcis)
Canada (Felix Auger-Aliassime and Milos Raonic)
Croatia (Borna Coric and Marin Cilic)
France (Gael Monfils and Benoit Paire)
Great Britain (Andy Murray and Kyle Edmund)
Georgia (Nikoloz Basilashvili and Aleksandre Metreveli)
Germany (Alexander Zverev and Jan-Lennard Struff)
Greece (Stefanos Tsitsipas and Michail Pervolarakis)
Japan (Kei Nishikori and Yoshihito Nishioka)
Italy (Fabio Fognini and Matteo Berrettini)
Russia (Daniil Medvedev and Karen Khachanov)
Serbia (Novak Djokovic and Dusan Lajovic)
South Africa (Kevin Anderson and Lloyd Harris)
Spain (Rafael Nadal and Roberto Bautista Agut)
USA (John Isner and Taylor Fritz)
Bulgaria (Grigor Dimitrov and Dimitar Kuzmanov)
Chile (Cristian Garin and Nicolas Jarry)
Poland (Hubart Hurkacz and Kamil Majchrzak)
Uruguay (Pablo Cuevas and Martin Cuevas)
Moldova (Radu Albot and Alexander Cozbinov)
Norway (Casper Ruud and Viktor Durasovic)

The inaugural ATP Cup will be held in Sydney, Brisbane and Perth from Friday 3 until Sunday 12 January. Get your tickets to both Sydney and Brisbane, as well as the finals held in Sydney, from now.

*Players are correct at time of writing

Share post