Sport / Preview

NRL Nines: Everything you need to know

This weekend the NRL Nines competition lands in Perth.

NRL Nines will hit HBF Park across two massive days this February, with tickets starting at just $25*.

The NRL’s preseason tournament in 2020 will see all 16 NRL clubs, and four NRLW clubs head to Perth for the festival of footy.

What is NRL Nines?

The preseason competition will see all 16 clubs compete, as they prepare for the upcoming 2020 NRL Premiership Season, beginning on Thursday 12 March.

The tournament will be held across two days, Friday 14 and Saturday 15 February, with four pools of four teams.

Each match will be played across two halves, consisting of nine minutes each.

The faster-paced format, with just nine players on each team, will see the most entertaining and quickest elements of the game on display.

This means fewer scrums and limited stoppages, quicker restarts, with just a five tackle count, a 25-second shot clock, three-minute sin bins – all assisted by unlimited interchanges.


The scoring system will see each try awarded four points, conversion two points, and field goal one point, but there will also be a bonus zone in between the posts that delivers five points for a try.

Match schedule

All 16 teams have been divided into four pools of four teams.

Pool 1: Panthers, Warriors, Roosters, Knights

Pool 2: Bulldogs, Dragons, Eels, Sharks

Pool 3: Raiders, Wests Tigers, Titans, Rabbitohs

Pool 4: Cowboys, Storm, Broncos, Sea Eagles

NRL Nines

The women’s draw will see the Roosters, Broncos, Dragons and Warriors all face off in a round-robin before the two top teams compete in the Final.

NRL Nines Women

Games begin at 4.05pm on Friday 14 February, with ten games into the evening concluding at 8.15pm.

Saturday 15 February’s action begins at 10.20am. A further ten group stage games (both men’s and women’s) will be held.

The Quarter Finals will then begin at 2.40pm, seeing the top two teams of each pool progressing.

The women’s Final will begin at 6.25pm, before the men’s Final at 7pm.

NRL Nines schedule

NRL Nines Tickets

Tickets to the tournament begin at just $25* for Friday, and $40* for Saturday.

Two-day passes are also available for purchase, beginning at just $60*.

NRL Nines will take over HBF Park, Perth on Friday 14 February and Saturday 15 February. All tickets to the NRL Nines can be found at, so make sure you snap yours up now.

Share post