Sport / Announce

Legends of League heads to Newcastle this weekend

Legends of League is on its way.

The Legends of League tournament sees six teams of past rugby league legends take to the field with ultimate bragging rights on the line.

The tournament will be held this Saturday 16 November, from 1pm at McDonald Jones Stadium in Newcastle.

With over $75k in prize money on the line, and funds being raised to support the Mark Hughes Foundation, this is going to be a seriously entertaining six hours of league action.

Who’s playing?

With six teams full of past NRL legends, there are plenty of big names to rattle off.

Michael Crocker will captain the Barbarians, Wendell Sailor takes charge of Brisbane and Andrew Ryan leads Canterbury.

These three sides will make up pool A.

Craig Gower captains Penrith, Danny Buderus heads up Newcastle and Nathan Hindmarsh is the face of Parramatta.

These sides all makeup pool B.

To check out the full team lists and which 90 rugby league legends you can see in action, head here.


The full schedule, starting at 1pm, is as below:

Game 1 – 1pm | Barbarians v Brisbane

Game 2 – 1.30pm | Parramatta v Penrith

Game 3 – 2pm | Canterbury v Barbarians

Game 4 – 2.30pm | Penrith v Newcastle

Game 5 – 3pm | Canterbury v Brisbane

Game 6 – 3.30pm | Newcastle v Parramatta

Semi-Final 1 – 4.15pm | Winner Pool A v Runner Up Pool B

Semi-Final 2 – 4.45pm | Winner Pool B v Runner Up Pool A

Grand Final – 5.30pm | Winner Semi-Final 1 v Winner Semi-Final 2

Each game will consist of two nine-minute halves.

Each team will also be allocated a designated ‘signing’ time throughout the day.

So, it is time to pick your side, grab your tickets, and make the most of an action-packed day of rugby league action.

Tickets to legends of League are available at

Legends of League

  • McDonald Jones Stadium, Newcastle

Share post