Sport / Preview

Junior Presidents Cup teams locked in

The future of golf is coming

Twenty-four players – 12 international and 12 from the United States – have qualified for the 2019 Junior Presidents Cup.

You’ve already heard all about the main event, where Tiger Woods and Ernie Els will captain their respective sides when the best US players take on the highest-ranked Internationals. You can check out top eight qualifiers for each team here.

Now we also know who will be competing in the second-ever Junior Presidents Cup. Set across the two days leading into the main event, it will see the world’s best junior golfers go head to head.

Marking your chance to see the future superstars of golf face off on Australian soil; alongside players representing ten states across the United States, there will also be competitors from Australia, China, Chinese Taipei, India, Korea and South Africa.

Two Australians have made the cut, with Perth-born Karl Vilips qualifying as the number 1 player for the International team and Connolly’s Joshua Greer bookending the lineup. With five players on the International team, South Africa represents the largest contingent – including four of the top six in the standings.

Junior Presidents Cup

Team US took home the 2017 Cup

2019 Junior Presidents Cup International Team

Nine-time PGA TOUR winner and five-time Presidents Cup participant Stuart Appleby will lead the International team.

At No. 47 in the WAGR, Australia’s Karl Vilips has qualified as the number one player for the International Team. As a member of the 2017 Junior Presidents Cup team, Vilips recorded a 1-2 record, which included a Singles match win over Prescott Butler. He’ll be joined by fellow Australian Joshua Greer (#12) who won the 2019 Western Australia Amateur and qualified for his first U.S. Junior Amateur Championship this year.

From South Africa, Martin Vorster is the second-ranked player following a successful summer that included a win at the East of Ireland Amateur Championship, he is followed by fellow countryman Jayden Schaper. Christo Lamprecht (#5), Samuel Simpson (#6) and Jordan Duminy (#11) round out the South Africans heading to Melbourne.

While China will make their Presidents Cup debut in 2019, they will also have two players competing in the Junior Presidents Cup, with Bo Jin (#9) and Andi Xu (#10) both qualifying. India will have a representative for the second time with Kartik Sharma qualifying at #4 in the standings, while Korea’s Jang Huyn Lee (#7) – the youngest player on the International team – and Chuan-Tai Lin (#8) from Chinese Taipei round out the International Team.

2019 Junior Presidents Cup US Team

The U.S. Team will be led by 12-time PGA TOUR winner and AJGA alum Justin Leonard.

Ohio’s Maxwell Moldovan headlines the US Junior team as the highest-ranked player in the Rolex AJGA Rankings following a T4 finish at the Junior Players Championship. He’ll be joined by two-time first-team Rolex Junior All-American, Kentucky’s Canon Claycomb (#2) – the only member of the 2017 US Junior Presidents Cup Team to qualify again in 2019.

2018 U.S. Junior Amateur champion Michael Thorbjornsen (#5) will make his debut, alongside the likes of Florida’s Brett Roberts (#3) and North Carolina’s Jack Heath (#4)

Preston Summerhays (#6) of Arizona, locked in his Junior Presidents Cup place by winning the 2019 U.S. Junior Amateur, while a stellar run from Washington’s Ian Siebers (#10) saw him move from #16 at the beginning of the Junior Players Championship to finishing at #10.

North Carolina’s Jackson Van Paris (#7), California-native Alexander Yang (#8), Texans Vishnu Sadagopan (#9) and Stephen Campbell Jr (#11) and Connecticut’s own Benjamin James (#12) complete the US Junior Presidents Cup team.

Following the Junior Presidents Cup, the 2019 Presidents Cup will be held from Monday 9 December until Sunday 15 December.

The Junior Presidents Cup will be held at The Royal Melbourne Golf Club on Sunday 8 December and Monday 9 December. General Admission tickets are on sale now at for just $10*.

*Fees apply

Share post