Sport / Preview

Hyundai A-League Grand Final: Perth Glory v Sydney FC

The time has come. The stage is set. Who will be the 2018/19 Hyundai A-League Champions?

After two entertaining and surprising games for very different reasons, we have our 2019 Hyundai A-League Grand Finalists.

Perth Glory and Sydney FC will do battle at Optus Stadium, Perth on Sunday 19 May at 4.30pm (WST).

Tickets will be on sale to the general public today, Tuesday 14 May, at 2pm (WST) right here.

After their most successful season to date, Perth Glory managed to finish top of the table, scoring a league-high 56 goals and conceding a league-low 23. The standout team all season, Glory have only lost three times this season. Yet, dangerously, two of these have come against Grand Final opponents Sydney FC.

Sydney finished second on the table. Despite a very strong season, they never quite came close to challenging the Glory for top spot. But, the job is not done for either side, and it all comes down to one match.

Sydney FC will be ecstatic with their form heading into the clash, dispatching of third-placed Melbourne Victory 6-1 in a rampant semi-final. A clinical display from the ‘Sky Blues sees them heading into the Grand Final full of confidence.

Perth Glory, on the other hand, were slightly unconvincing in their penalty shootout victory over Adelaide United. After going 2-0 up in the 74th minute they managed to let it slip, conceding a 90+4 minute equaliser, sending the tie to extra time. Glory then conceded another equaliser, forcing the decider to penalties. Veteran goalkeeper Liam Reddy was the hero, saving three penalties in a row (and four altogether) to take it out.

While unconvincing, Perth got the job done as they have all season.

Goalkeeper Liam Reddy was enormous on Friday night, saving four penalties and scoring one himself.

It really is a flip of the coin heading into the Grand Final, with both sides undoubtedly full of confidence that the Championship is theirs for the taking.

Although HBF Park has been their home this season, the Grand Final will be held at the larger Optus Stadium, boasting a 60,000-spectator capacity. The new pinnacle in Australian stadiums, Optus Stadium will provide the ideal venue to host such a spectacle.

So, who will shine to get the job done for their side?

Andy Keogh (Perth Glory)  and Adam le Fondre (Sydney FC) have been their sides top target men this season with 15 and 18 goals each respectively. Brandon O’Neill and Milos Ninkovic have been pulling the strings for Sydney this campaign, while Chris Ikonomidis and Diego Castro have been in scintillating form for Perth.

Or, will it be the keepers stealing the show, with veteran Liam Reddy competing in his first A-League Grand Final after 276 appearances, including a stint at Sydney FC. Or Sydney’s Andrew Redmayne who boasts 138 A-League appearances himself.

We don’t have the answers yet, but we do know that this is set up to be one for the ages.

Make sure you secure your tickets to the 2019 Hyundai A-League Grand Final at 2pm (WST) today, at

Perth Glory v Sydney FC

Hyundai A-League Grand Final 2018/19

  • Optus Stadium

Share post