Sport / Preview

AFL State of Origin to return later this month

It's been a long time between kicks

The AFL’s State of Origin returns in 2020 after a 12-year hiatus, as Victoria take on the All Stars on Friday 28 February.

The double-header will also see some of the 2020 NAB AFLW stars in action, with Collingwood facing Melbourne in the curtain-raiser.

The AFLW will begin at 5.40pm, before the State of Origin clash starts at 7.50pm.

The event will continue to raise funds for the AFL’s Community Relief Fund, set up to provide much-needed support to fire-affected communities in Australia, helping to repair and rebuild their football clubs.

Who’s playing State of Origin and how does selection work?

Victoria will be led by Richmond Premiership coach Damien Hardwick, while the All Stars team will be coached by John Longmire, a Premiership coach himself with Sydney.

Eight players have been nominated by the AFL to play, including four for the All Stars and four for Victoria.

Players are selected based on the state in which they were born, with International players joining the All Stars side.

Each side will be complied of a total of 27 players, with a maximum of three players from each club to feature in the match.

Final teams will be announced on Wednesday 26 February.

State of Origin predictions

We’ve had a crack at how we believe each side could line up for the big day, with three players from all 18 clubs featuring. Players who were nominated but have since become injured have been left out, including Max Gawn, Isaac Heeney, Jarrod Witts and Ollie Wines.

*Predicted teams only


B: Jake Lloyd | Michael Hurley | Jacob Weitering

HB: James Sicily | Mark Blicavs | Luke Ryan

C: Luke Shuey | Dustin Martin | Scott Pendlebury

HF: Marcus Bontempelli | Jeremy Cameron | Patrick Dangerfield

FF: Toby Greene | Tom Lynch | Jordan De Goey

R: Rowan Marshall | Clayton Oliver | Jack Macrae

I: Ben McEvoy | Dylan Shiel | Josh Dunkley | Touk Miller | Travis Boak | Shaun Higgins | Ben Cunnington | Adam Saad | Rory Sloane


B: Neville Jetta | Steven May | Dane Rampe

HB: Rory Laird | Harris Andrews | Zach Tuohy

C: Tim Kelly | Nat Fyfe | Lachie Neale

HF: Jack Martin | Ben Brown | Connor Rozee

FF: Michael Walters | Jack Riewoldt | Charlie Cameron

R: Brodie Grundy | Patrick Cripps | Stephen Coniglio

I: Nic Naitanui | Bradley Hill | Jaeger O’Meara | Brodie Smith | Lachie Weller | Jarrod Harbrow | Brad Ebert | Callum Mills | Jack Steele

State of Origin Tickets

Tickets to the State of Origin begin at $20, on level 3 and level 1, with prime seating on level 2 costing just $40.

All proceeds will be donated to the AFL’s Community Relief Fund.

The AFL State of Origin and NAB AFLW Competition doubleheader will take over Marvel Stadium, Melbourne on Friday 28 February. Find your tickets at now.

Share post