Best of the best ready for State Grand Finals

The Victorian and Western Australian state football leagues will be decided on different sides of the country on Sunday September 21. Footscray and the Box Hill Hawks will play off in the VFL Grand Final at Etihad Stadium (2.15pm local time), while Subiaco has won its way through to face East Perth in the WAFL Grand Final at Patersons Stadium (2.15pm local time).

The matches will be played at two of the AFL’s premier venues, which provides a thrill for the players involved and also provides fans with all the comforts of state-of-the-art sports stadiums.

Footscray is aligned with the AFL’s Western Bulldogs and has some emerging AFL talent on its list including Liam Jones, Tory Dickson, Christian Howard and Lin Jong. The Box Hill Hawks are the reserves side for Hawthorn, which will play in a Preliminary Final the night prior to the VFL Grand Final. The Hawks of course will be hoping their VFL and AFL sides can enjoy premiership success in 2014.

East Perth and Subiaco have looked like the two best WAFL teams all year, which should ensure a hard-fought and competitive match.

The matches represent great value for money as there are curtain-raiser matches for both events and they are included in the cost of admission. The VFL Grand Final will be preceded by the TAC Cup Grand Final, while the WAFL Leagues Grand Final will follow the WAFL Colts and WAFL Reserves Grand Finals.

The TAC Cup Grand Final will be played between the Calder Cannons and Oakleigh Chargers at 10.30am at Etihad Stadium. The match features the best Under 18s players on offer and is often a first look at some of the AFL’s future superstars and new draftees.

Click here to purchase tickets to the VFL Grand Final at Etihad Stadium between Footscray and the Box Hill Hawks.

Share post