Music

News

Mika announces ‘I Love Beirut’ livestream benefit concert

The intimate concert will benefit the Red Cross Lebanon and Save the Children Lebanon

Beirut born, British-Lebanese singer Mika has announced a very special, intimate livestream concert scheduled for this September.

The announcement comes after the singer was profoundly affected by the scale of devastation from the explosion in Beirut docks and its impact on the people of the city.

His ‘I Love Beirut’ performance, which will include a number of surprises from friends, will raise funds for both Red Cross Lebanon and Save the Children Lebanon.

Mika’s livestream guest list is jam-packed. Leading the way is pop icon Kylie Minogue. She’ll be joined by singer-songwriter Rufus Wainwright, acclaimed Lebanese-American poet, essayist and visual artist Etel Adnan, Salma Hayek, Danna Paola, legendary French actress Fanny Ardant, singer Louane, Italian icon Laura Pausini, and Mashrou Leila.

Mika Livestream Performances

  • Australia: Sunday 20 September @ 8pm AEST
  • New Zealand: Sunday 20 September @ 10pm NZST
  • Asia: Sunday 20 September @ 7pm JST/KST
  • UK & Ireland: Saturday 19 September @ 8pm BST/IST
  • Europe: Saturday 19 September @ 9pm CEST
  • North America & Central/South America: Saturday 19 September @ 6pm PDT / 9pm EDT

“After all the years of civil war, financial crisis and political upheaval, the news of the tragic explosion was unbelievable,” Mika says.

“Although far away, my heart broke for the families losing their homes, their livelihoods and their loved ones in this catastrophe. I wanted to do something to help in any small way I can. That is why I am staging a livestream concert in aid of the people of the city. Beirut has been through so much and the resilience and strength of the Lebanese people is undeniable. I have no doubt that the city will recover and the unique life of this magical city will resume once again. Beirut is the place of my birth, is part of me and will always be in my heart.”

Mika, who released his fifth studio album My Name is Michael Holbrook last year, toured Australia for the first time in 11 years in February.

Discover more:

Mika will perform a special livestream benefit concert for Beirut on Sunday 20 September @ 8pm AEST. Tickets are on sale via Ticketmaster.com.au.