APRA Shortlist 20 Songs for Song of the Year

With the APRA Music Awards heading to Brisbane in June, APRA have revealed 20 songs up for the major award Song of the Year.

Nick Cave & The Bad Seeds and Boy and Bear have both been shortlisted with two songs each while Ian Kenny of both Birds of Tokyo and Karnivool has been nominated twice, one for each of his bands.

The APRA Music Awards are about songwriters and are voted for by APRA AMCOS members.

The nominees for all APRA Music Award categories will be announced on Thursday 29 May.

On 23 June the APRA Music Awards will be held for the first time in Brisbane.

APRA Song of the Year contenders

A Moat You Can Stand In – The Drones
Alive – Empire Of The Sun
Avenger – The Bamboos
Battleships – Bernard Fanning
Bayini – Geoffrey Yunupingu
Covered In Chrome – Violent Soho
Drop The Game – Flume & Chet Faker
God Fearing – Sarah Blasko and the Slavey Folklore Quartet
Harlequin Dream – Boy and Bear
Is This How You Feel – The Preatures
Jubilee Street – Nick Cave and the Bad Seeds
Lanterns – Birds Of Tokyo
Only One – John Butler Trio
Resolution – Matt Corby
Rip Tide – Vance Joy
Southern Star – Boy and Bear
Steal The Light – The Cat Empire
Under Your Skin – Dan Sultan
We Are – Karnivool
We No Who U R – Nick Cave & The Bad Seeds

Share post